Welcome and come in

Hi folks, and welcome to my new blog: A wanderer in red shoes. If you’ve come across me on the web before you’ll know that I used to be a wanderer in Paris, and then morphed into a wanderer near Paris (note that subtle, but important distinction).

When I came back to blogging in  2009 after a wee hiatus called ‘the little sausage’, I found that the blogging world had changed and left me behind. It was all about building your social network platforms, focusing your blog and getting followers and blah and blah and blah. But the thing is I can’t write about one thing. I’m a writer for crying out loud, I need to be able to write about anything.

In a struggle to keep up, I created weekly features that I failed to update until the only thing keeping the old blog going were my scheduled photos. There was a point where I thought about giving up blogging. Then a chance comment by a fellow blogger made me think about what I really liked about blogging and what I miss about it. What I really needed was a fresh start. Eh voila!

While I don’t think I can be kept in a box, I did do the little exercises wordpress suggest for finding a FOCUS *spit, cough, ick, ick, ick* and basically came up with this. The idea is you can either come to this page and read everything I wibble on about, or:

Red shoe days is me wibbling on about anything, random thoughts, how to solve all the problems of the world, you know stuff like that. I suppose you could call it … a journal.

Books, books, books are basically book reviews. I warn you now that they are mostly children’s books, pictures books, young adult books and one or two adult books. Although you never know with me there may be more adult books coming.

Words about writing is pretty self-explanatory. It’s me wittering on about writing, mostly angsty stuff like: oooh I haven’t written today, why can’t I write today, what shall I write today? OK it isn’t like that at all.

And lastly Pretty Pictures are my photos. I like taking them and sometimes they are even alright to look at.

Leave a Reply

